The Veggie Stall

Published on by Giddy Iddy

The concept of a weekly village market is becoming less and less in the UK. People rely on the big ol' supermarket chains that are open daily from daybreak to vampire hours and can sell you food at knock down prices because of industrial farming.

Here in Twente, and the rest of the Netherlands, there remains a thriving weekly farmers market environment and I love it to bits!
Not only is it a great place to buy groceries that are fresh off of the farm but its also a great place to entertain your house guests.

I can loose my Father and #4 for hours at the farmers market.

In Haaksbergen the weekly market is held on a Wednesday. Today I have had a chat with the biggest Veggie Stall owner in the market square.

When I first began frequenting the weekly market  this stall was hands down the most busiest with people 3 deep waiting to be served. I was enormously curious as to why and his answer was very simple. "Good produce, sourced locally at reasonable prices".

Our veggie stall holder was a man of few words.

As it was such a nice day the youngest baby Cloggy and I had decided to bicycle into the village. This took a little longer than anticipated because we were distracted by a beautiful little foal on the way and by the time we got to the Markt everybody was packing up.

After a mooch around the village and an illicit visit to the icecream parlour (I'm sorry Sonja I slipped off of the diet wagon) we cycled home again getting distracted by the cute foal.

Next week I'll get there earlier and take some better photos.

Published on Twente Stuff

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post